Apiary Inspection Program

Apiary Inspection services are provided by the NC Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services (NCDA&CS), Plant Industry Division, Plant Protection Section, Apiary Services.

A list of inspectors is provided below for your convenience.

They publish an annual list of Dealers with Permit to Sell Bees in North Carolina, useful for people looking to purchase bees.

Visit the Apiary Services page for details of the services provided, regulations, and recommendations about beekeeping.

The strength of the beekeeping industry in North Carolina is in large part due to the historical close cooperation between the NCSBA beekeepers and the Apiary Inspectors. We encourage and expect all beekeepers to continue that cooperation by following any regulations set forth by the Apiary Services as they endeavor to identify, contain, and eradicate honey bee pests, mitigate beekeeping industry problems, and train beekeepers to do so as well.

Get acquainted with your inspectors. Avail yourself of their services.

You will be a better beekeeper for it!

nc regions map

NC Bee Inspectors

Region Name Contact Phone/Email
Eastern NC Garland Adolphus Leonard (252) 916-3444
Adolphus.Leonard@ncagr.gov
South Central NC Nancy Ruppert (910) 690-9555
Nancy.Ruppert@ncagr.gov
Wake, Johnston,
& Counties North
William M. Hicks (919) 691-0022
Will.Hicks@ncagr.gov
North Central NC Donald I. Hopkins (919) 218-3310
Don.Hopkins@ncagr.gov
Iredell & Counties
North and South
Gregory Fariss (336) 813-9810
Gregory.Fariss@ncagr.gov
Western NC Jack B. Hanel (828) 230-4544
Jack.Hanel@ncagr.gov